Hello from Utah - Needing advice on pellet food

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by echipping, Sep 4, 2014.

1. echipping

echipping Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2014
    Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Hi there, my name is Emily and I am from Cottonwood Heights UT. I am new to raising chickens this year and have loved this site for all its advise! In my flock we have a Giant Blue Cochin (BlueBell), Americana (Pumpkin), Buff Orpington (Goldie), Silkie Bantam (Baby), and a Light Brahma (Oreo). They are currently 18 weeks and not laying yet but are pure joys to have. I recently switched them to a pellet feed with I want to say 16% protein or something and they have all stopped eating! Any advice? They are all old enough to be off the feeder grower but wont eat this new pellet food. They free range no problem and eat there busy block and treats but wont touch the pellets. Just wondering if anyone has encountered this.

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    My girls had crumbles as chicks and when I changed to layer feed, I kept with the crumbles. But did try a pellet feed one time, mixed crumbles 75%/pellets 25 % for a few days, then 50/50 then 100% pellets and the ate it.

Chickens don't accept change quickly. They have to eat, but can be finicky. If you really prefer pellets, get some crumbled feed to mix and slowly transition over.

1 person likes this.
  3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Some chickens don't like pellet feed, some love it. I have found it is either a love it or hate it relationship. LOL You might try mixing the old crumbles in with the pellets to help get them used to the pellets. Mix both for about a month, constantly reducing the amount of crumbles in the mix.

Pretty soon you can get them on layer feed too.