Hello from west central WI!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rexannastar, Nov 2, 2013.

1. rexannastar

rexannastar Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2013
    west central WI
    Hi all, I'm brand new to chickens, although I admit to lurking around here for quite some time. I've learned so much! I've got the coop set up and (hopefully) varmint-proofed, have researched feeding and health concerns, and considered how to weather the winter. All that's left is to take the leap and bring home some birds. (I am not ready for hatching chicks. I have great respect for those of you who do!) I've had animals all my life, but I'm a little worried I won't know how to choose hens that are a good fit. Does anyone have any good advice? Looking to just have 2 or 3 layers, but they'd mostly be pets. Thanks all!

2. loveourbirds

loveourbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    [​IMG]

for personalities i love cochins, but they tend to go broody - hens dont lay when they are broody.

for dual purpose i like plymouth rocks and rhode island reds, some RIR roosters can be ornery.

for just egg layers, its hard to beat a golden comet or black sex link for brown eggs. for white eggs ideal white leghorns.

for looks, polish-small eggs ok layers, silkies-small eggs poor layers, or frizzles-varies but usually poor layers.

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG] If you are planning to make them house pets (some people do), you might consider Silkie pullets. They seem to adjust well to it and enjoy the luxuries that go along with it.

They are not reliable layers but will certainly keep you entertained. There is a thread on BYC about house pet chickens. You could still have them spend time outdoors in a secure run.

4. rexannastar

Aug 24, 2013
    west central WI