Hello I'm a newcomer from Maine

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chazster3, Dec 9, 2012.

1. chazster3

chazster3 Just Hatched

Dec 8, 2012
    [​IMG] Hello Everyone,

I'm new to BYC. We have 3 RI Reds and 12 Black Sex Links with another 10 varieties coming to our coop in May of 2013. I plan to keep expanding my flock here in Southern Maine as I am having no problem selling the eggs which pays for their food and lodging. My girlfriend and I have lived together here for 10 years but have only had chickens for 3 years now. We enjoy hiking, kayaking, and country living. We have 5 acres with a small trout pond and 2 Shiba Inus to keep us company. Recently we founded a non-profit organization to help protect rural landowners' rights like ourselves. If you are interested you can check it out at ruralme.org. I also maintain a facebook page at www.facebook.com/ruralinme.com. It seems that there are always folks from the city areas that want to take away our freedom here in the country for their gains.
    Next spring I will be constructing a new coop. I'm thinking that a 12 X 12 should be large enough for about 50 or so chickens. I like to allow them access to the outdoors so I will also make a large completely fenced in area for them to enjoy the outside. Racoons were a serious issue our first 2 years and we had to kill 3 of them that had gotten into our coop unfortunately [​IMG]. I worked hard to completely encapsulate the current coop and pen. After loosing 7 chickens and 3 racoons I was very motivated. We haven't had any more deaths since. I only let the chickens free range when I am outside with them.

We welcome any suggestions on the construction of our new coop or on any other matter.

Thank you, Chazster3 [​IMG]

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
  3. chazster3

chazster3 Just Hatched

Dec 8, 2012
    Thank you redsoxs. Much appreciated [​IMG]

4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008