Hello. I'm farmerkevin. I'm new to chickens :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by farmerkevin, Nov 30, 2013.

1. farmerkevin

farmerkevin Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2013
    Hello. So today I was very fortunate to be given free chickens and a free "coop." Coop is in quotation because its basically a canopy with chicken wire. But hey. It's a start.

So my neighbors want their dog to have run of the yard. But the dog attacks the chickens. No problem, I've been wanting chickens for a while, but I'm just about broke every month. So no money for the coop or chickens.

Ok enough babbling. Haha.

I need help identifying 3. I know 2 are barred rocks. They are awesome. Very friendly and very talkative :)

The others are kinda mean. They started pecking the barred rocks :(

I will be getting pics in the morning. Just tonight came too quick haha. I spent too much time tearing down the "coop" and rebuilding it.

So here's a pic of the coop and you can see one hen in question [​IMG]

And here it is over all. I know I need a better structure/roost. But funds are limited, so I'll be upgrading as I go :)[​IMG]

I would like advice. Just please be nice :) hey I'm a poet and didn't even know it. I rhyme all the time hahaha

So yeah. Please give me your thoughts, advice, concerns, criticisms etc. I'm totally new to this, and am really lost.

Thanks in advance :)

2. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    [​IMG] i dont see too much wrong with it. the top, i dont know where you live but it looks like it might collect too much snow or rain and bow it down. i just wonder the height of it and if it is fastened down good all the way around, if you put a ladder in the middle a bit higher than the cover it would allow for the rain to wash off and give a roost??

3. farmerkevin

Nov 30, 2013
    Thanks for the welcome :)