Hello! I'm new to chickens.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by peakaboobella, Jan 19, 2015.

1. peakaboobella

peakaboobella New Egg

Jan 19, 2015
    Missouri
    Hi all! I'm from Missouri. We bought a batch of free range chickens from a feed store about a year ago. 7 of the 8 were roosters. We didn't figure it out until 4 months later. After we have them away, I had 2 Americanas only. A hen and a Roo. About 4 months ago, a buddy of ours bought us 6 chickens from the sale barn. Just found out that all 6 were Roos. [​IMG]
    We are in the process of giving them away.. We have the hardest time getting some hens!!
    I adore the idea of getting fresh eggs for our family and friends. And I love all my feather heads we have had! ( hubby thinks they are "just birds" and doesn't care less)
    So I'm the crazy chicken wife. [​IMG]
    I hope I learn a bunch here!!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Beware of friends bearing chickens - they usually turn into roosters. Sorry you have to experience this again. Probably the best way to get hens is to buy them, or at least pullets at point of lay. If you attempt to hatch fertile eggs, you run into the same risk of getting mostly cockerels. Many hatcheries think so little of male chicks, they put them free in orders just to serve as chick warmers.

3. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC.