Hello...I'm new to the flock ;)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TripMomma, Jan 27, 2015.

1. TripMomma

TripMomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2015
    Oregon
    Hi guys! My name is Katrina, I'm in Oregon. We are about to get our first chicks this weekend. I have been thinking about getting into chickens for 2 years now, just kept getting scared off thinking they would be too much work or too hard to keep alive. I have been doing research, and now have 3 friends with chickens...who make it look like no big deal :)

We are just starting off with a mixed flock of 6. I have decided to get one each of...
    Ameraucana (supposedly the real deal and not an EE...I don't care either way)
    Barred Plymouth Rock
    Silver Laced Wyandotte
    Salmon Faverolle
    Buff Brahma
    and a Barnevelder.

I am super excited to learn more here.
    Thanks!

2. ChookRanger

ChookRanger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2014
    Hello and welcome. This is the best website to learn from. It is also a nice place to connect with people who love chickens. Good luck , and if you have any questions feel free to ask. If you just want to share your chicken experiences with us, we are here for that too.

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to our flock. If your chicks are coming from a hatchery (with the exception of Meyer which does breed true Blue Ameraucanas) they will be Easter Eggers. There's certainly nothing wrong with EEs. Our EEs are my granddaughter's (pictured in my avatar) favorite chickens. She loves their colored eggs. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with in getting your chicks.

4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Katrina
    Glad you could join the flock! Congratulations on your chicks that you are getting :celebrate