Hello, I'm Travis

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by tsulisky, Jan 2, 2017.

1. tsulisky

tsulisky New Egg

Jan 1, 2017
    Hi,I'm new to BYC . I have a question, I was given some young chickens was laying before I got them, I've had a week, but no eggs yet . What could be the problem?

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] There are several factors that caused them to stop laying. First of all chickens hate change the move to a new environment with a possible change in feed is the major factor in causing them to stop laying. Short day length decreases egg production - once the day length increases they will start to lay again.

3. RodNTN

RodNTN Following Jesus

May 22, 2013
    The USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG] I am glad you joined us Travis! You have been given some great advice by @sourland so I'll just say thanks for joining us and best wishes!

4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! I too agree with sour that the change could have upset them and caused the egg laying to stop. The shorter days sure does have an affect also, right now my egg count is pretty low.

Wishing you the very best of luck with your new chickens. Enjoy your time here on BYC and all the chicken chat :frow

5. tsulisky

tsulisky New Egg

Jan 1, 2017
    Thanks for the advice.I'm glad to be part of the flock

6. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under Travis [​IMG] Welcome!

Congratulations on your new feathered friends. I agree with the others; give them time to settle and they should start laying for you, especially when the daylight hours increase.