Hello my poultry friends; I am a new member.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shah, Jan 11, 2014.

1. Shah

Shah Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2014
    Hello my poultry friends. I just joined this forum because every time I had a poultry question/problem I got the answer by reading your discussions on this site. I am Shah from Maryland. I live on 8.5 acres of land with a 3/4 acre natural pond and a fast creek running through it. My property may be the perfect property for geese and duck. I have two male Embden geese, I just purchased 12 Pekin ducks, 3 Guinea fowls and two white racing pigeons. I also have about 50-60 resident Canadian geese coming and going. Last but not the least, I have three grown children and a wife. Other things that I enjoy are, playing my instrument, gardening and going to poultry shows and markets and talk and laugh chickens. I have my own funny ideas of what's a good rooster but we will talk about that later. I teach mathematics for a living but I am fortunate to be handy; I do almost all of my own work in my house except the roof because I am afraid of height. My interest in poultry goes a long way when I was a child. We were very poor and I never forget how important those eggs were in our lives. Those poor birds had to find their own food in desert with no grass. Once in a while we gave our chicken some wheat.
    I notice feed is expensive when you feed many birds so I am thinking of taking my duck and geese hobby serious enough to at least make enough money to feed my birds. I have looked at craigslist. There seems to be a big shortage of Embden geese and Pekin locally but almost too many Muscovy ducks. I welcome any ideas and experiences you may have on raising and selling ducks/geese. Thank you

2. JDchicks

JDchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2012
    Southeast Alabama
  3. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

Hello [​IMG] Shah and [​IMG] glad to have ya here [​IMG]

[​IMG]