Hello - New Chick family here.

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JReedy72, Mar 26, 2009.

1. JReedy72

JReedy72 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 26, 2009
    Hopewell, VA
    okay, we have had our chicks for about 4 weeks now (6 of them - Rhode Island Reds)...they are kept in a large plastic tub, using pine shavings as bedding. They seem pretty happy and healthy. I have seen where we are supposed to play with and handle them for them to get used to us. I try and handle them daily, but they always freak out whenever we get to close to the tub. Any suggestions so they will be friendly when they get older?

BTW - I am building a coop that is 4' x 4' and 36" off the ground. The run will be 12' x 4' including the room under the coop. I hope it is a good one. I am new to this as of today, and will try and post pics as soon as I figure out how to do that. I also am looking forward to completing the coop and getting them in it. They are very well along in getting their feathers!!

Jason

Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  2. Chickie Mamma

Chickie Mamma Farmer at Heart

Apr 20, 2008
    Sherman, CT
    [​IMG] from CT [​IMG]

3. RendonRoo

RendonRoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2009
    ft. worth
    We have handled our chicks from day one and they are very friendly but anytime something comes at them from above they automatically assume that it's a preditor. Go ahead and take them out and they will calm down as soon as they realize that your not gonna hurt them. Also hold them close to your chest so they can feel your heartbeat. I learned that raising cockatels years ago. It seem to help with the chickens also. Good Luck and get busy loving on those chicks.
    O Yea.... Welcome to BYC... home of the chicken addicts of the world.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  4. chookook

chookook Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2009
    Burien, WA