Hello. New guy, new to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chic Rustler, Feb 11, 2017.

1. Chic Rustler

Chic Rustler Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2017
    Texas
    Hello all. Im pretty new to chickens, and everything else to do with homesteading, just making a go of it and learning as i go. So far i have learned from a few mistakes.

I have a 40x40 coop that shares a large gate with my 40x40 garden. I fenced it all with 4 foot welded wire (first mistake) then i rose it to ten foot with emt conduit and deer netting. I started with 10 red sex link hens, then got 2 roosters. One black maran amd one black copper maran. I lost two hens. One killed by a dog (learned to wrap the fence with a electronic fence wire and use a shock collar) and one hen died of unknown cause.
    Today i picked up 6 two month old bantam cornish, 5 pullets and a rooster. I found that they can get threw the 2x4 wire if they want ao thats gonna be the next project.

I got a cheap incubator from a craigslist add. Its a foam one without a turner, thermometer and the crappiest thermostat in the world. Got a few eggs in there right now. Finally got it to maintain 101-102°f. We will see how that works. So far i wish i had ponied up for a better one. Lol

Lets see, i also have a few rabbits (dont know anything about them either but im learning) that are about to kindle....i think. I havent started the garden yet because i want the chickens to do most of the work. I have 5 kids to keep all the critters fed and a wife to keep me from buying too many more animals.

Any advice for a newb is much appreciated

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas