1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello! New member here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by highonhens, Oct 18, 2014.

1. highonhens

highonhens Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2014
    Bozeman, MT
    I've been getting tons of great information from this site and decided it was way past time to join. I am new to chickens, other than when I was 4-5 yrs old and was the one who collected the eggs and beat the mean roosters off because all the adults were too scared [​IMG]. I'm now 37 so it's been a couple of years. I have 16 chickens. My ladies are a mix of RIR, Black Giants and Black Stars. I have a Polish rooster and just adopted a little silkie bantam cross rooster. I'm looking to add more to my crew in the spring. I have room for about 10 more. I also have a cat, two dogs and two ferrets. When the day comes that I get more room, I'll add a peacock to my crew. So far, everyone gets along quite well. Other than my ladies pick the feathers off my Polish's head. He's a bit of a baldy in the center. I might have to get him a hat for the winter [​IMG]. I've trimmed all his feathers so they aren't so intrigued with his bouncy feathers. Seems to be helping. I'm excited to be here and keep learning. I love my chickens!!!

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Ya, everybody else always seem to pick out the poor polish chickens top feathers don't they... if you haven't, you might try spraying the bald spots and crest with blu kote, sometimes that helps with the plucking, especially on white crested birds.

3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us.

4. highonhens

Oct 18, 2014
    Bozeman, MT