hello..new to forum..and chickens...

redhen

Kiss My Grits...
Premium Feather Member
11 Years
May 19, 2008
Western MA
i am new to chickens....and have many questions..;o)yesterday i purchased 2 RIR, 1 white rock,2 black sex link chicks,and 2 ducklings...we need to start a coop A.S.A.P....but we want to do it correctly.. my main concerns are draft and predator protection...i know they need alot of ventilation..what would you suggest i use for the window screens?..and how to install it so nothing can can in or out of the coop(we will lock them up at night). also...i have 2 baby goats (pygmy and alpine..both de-horned)..i was wondering if i put the coop in one section of thier pen...but mostly kept the goats out of the area..just use the coop area as a sort of throughway for the goats to pass to the next pen we have for them would it be safe if they had some contact with the goats?..also...do i need to add a top covering to the coop yard?(it may be hard to do...with the goat fence)...if my goat fence is about 5 feet high?or could i just clip the hens wings?(although i dont really want to do that..in case they need to fly from some danger)....also..lol..sorry..i'm long winded....can i keep my ducks in the same pen (differant coop) as the chickens..(or could they go in the same coop?).will the ducks pool be a hazard to the chickens?will they fight?..also....i have a pot belly pig..that is outside during the day( he's inside the house at night)..he goes in the pen with the goats...would he be safe around the chickens? ....again..sorry so long!..Thanks

First let me say.... Welcome to BYC. You will find many people ready and willing to help. Now...let me see what I can do for your questions...LOL

what would you suggest i use for the window screens?..and how to install it so nothing can can in or out of the coop
I would get the welded wire fencing. This is what we are useing. Nail/staple/screw it up, and then get some wood trim, to cover the edges.