Hello! Newbie from Boston area with a question :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BirdIsTheWurd, Apr 14, 2012.

1. BirdIsTheWurd

BirdIsTheWurd Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2012
    Massachusetts
    Hi, I am just getting started on my chicken journey.
    I have a coop, am building a run and gathering supplies. Have been planning this for awhile, but now I find myself in a dilemma, and would appreciate advice.
    I do not want chicks, planning to get pullets and start a small flock of 4 or 5.
    I have one source who can sell me 19 wk old Golden Comets (not laying yet though). This is tempting because I like the breed and I would get eggs very quickly.
    The other source has 6-8 week pullets available starting in June/July and one of the breeds is the Easter Egger, which was my top choice. They also have Buff Orpingtons and Light Brahma breeds (which I know aren't great layer, but I love the fluffy feet).
    I really wanted variety in my little flock and, ideally, I wish I could get a couple of the Golden Comets now and then add a couple more (maybe 2 Easter Eggers and a Light Brahma) later so I could have eggs soon and variety... but I know that's risky from a pathogen standpoint. What would you do?
    Any advice appreciated!
    (also, the G.Comets have their beaks trimmed... is that something that should concern me?)

Thanks! [​IMG]

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    Welcome to the BYC forum!

I like having a mixed flock. Ideally if you add chickens to an established flock you would quarantine them for a month to make sure they have no communicable diseases. That isn't really difficult if you only get three which you could put in a large dog crate in the garage. You may want to ask about vaccines given to the pullets.