Hello - question about # of chicks per breed....

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chloemama, Jan 18, 2010.

1. chloemama

chloemama Out Of The Brooder

Jan 18, 2010
    Northern Rhode Island
    Hello everyone-
    I am a newbie to having chickens and after spending HOURS online and looking/reading books I have narrowed my choices down to 9 breeds.
    My love is not even thrilled that I am doing this so 9 is out of the question, for now :)

Okay on to the question....
    Do I need to order chicks in pairs or can I have of each kind? I know chickens need buddies but do I need pairs of them?

Thank you in
    advance-

2. alicefelldown

alicefelldown Looking for a broody

Aug 18, 2008
    Chicken pairs or even trios can be any breed. That being said, some breeds are friendlier, some are more skittish, some are flat out crazy, et cetera.

You really only want pairs/trios of a single breed if you are going to be breeding them.

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    You don't absolutely need pairs of each breed. Three should be the minumum total # of chicks you get for a good reason. Chickens are very much flock animals. If you only get two and goodness forbid something should happen to one, you'll end up with a very lonely bird on your hands. With three if you lose one, at least the remaining two still have each other.
    Now about the breed pairings. I have 14 chickens, all one breed, but in three different colors. I have found the lights tend to stay with the lights, the darks with the darks and the buffs with the buffs. There may be some truth in the old adage that birds of a feather flock together.

4. Quote:I agree. All of our different breeds stay together.

5. happytxchick

happytxchick Egg Song Acre

Jul 8, 2009
    Sulphur Springs, TX