1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Marc S, Jun 27, 2016.

1. Marc S

Marc S Just Hatched

Jun 27, 2016
    Southern California
    Hi all, I've been looking at this websire for a while and thought I'd join. I'm new to raising chickens and recently got 3 chicks. A silver laced a blue laced, and a lavender Orpington. They are about a week old. The blue seems to always be alone and chirps non stop. I'm wondering if this is normal. She seems a bit younger than the other 2. I'm also wondering if 3 chicks is the problem? Shes very needy and only relaxes when we hold her. We love that she is like that and hold her as much as we can. Any advise?[​IMG][/IMG]

2. Marc S

Marc S Just Hatched

Jun 27, 2016
    Southern California
    [​IMG] all 3 together

3. Chickensfan

Chickensfan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2016
    California!
    it is natural to have a loud chick every so often. My 2 fav chickens--Sugarpuff (a boy. Ironic right?) and Hattie (a girl who is currently sick.)
    but welcome to BYC!

4. Chickensfan

Jun 26, 2016
    California!
    but by the way...if you would like to read more about Hattie and her sickness please read my thread "My Hen Has A White Tongue!"

5. Marc S

Marc S Just Hatched

Jun 27, 2016
    Southern California
    Thank you for the reply... sorry you have a sick chicken

6. Chickensfan

Jun 26, 2016
    California!
    it is fine. She is getting better every day. She is a white crested black polish. A beauty too. I am currently treating her with water mixed with apple cider vinegar.(she hates it.)It clears out the throat and helps the digestive system, as well as helping many other issues.

7. Marc S

Marc S Just Hatched

Jun 27, 2016
    Southern California