1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MageofMist, Dec 9, 2016.

1. MageofMist

MageofMist Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 9, 2016
    Britain
    Hello! I am Mage of Mist and I am a hobbyist quail and diamond dove keeper! In my profile pic you can see two of my five birds, Romeo the Diamond Dove (who is female, but I didn't know that til after I named her) and Rex the King Quail.

I have been lurking the forums for a while reading advice and finally decided to join in! I saw that yogurt was good for them, so I provided some with blueberries and mealworms and the quails loved it! Rex even got some on his face! The doves, like always, acted aloof though. [​IMG] They are only interested in seeds and grit.
    [​IMG]

I have been wondering though, is Rex a Double Blue Faced? I have seen pictures of them and they look a lot like him, but I haven't seen one with white wing feathers like he has. He was from a pet store unlike the hens who are from a breeder, which I think is why he is missing a few toes due to his living conditions before being sent to the store.
    [​IMG]
    The guy we got the two hens from seen him and commented on his interesting colour and said we may get silvers from them, so I am quite interested if that may be the case! One of the hens has already setted on the eggs, which are in a box instead of a corner now, but I am not sure if they are fertilized or not.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2016
  2. dragonthehunter

dragonthehunter Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2016
    New brunswick Canada
    [​IMG]
    I haven't yet gotten into quail so I don't know the answer But interested in hearing it

3. MageofMist

Dec 9, 2016
    Britain