Hello

KDM0516

Hatching
Oct 21, 2018
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? I grew up with family members having chickens. I've not had any real experiences raising them.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? None...we are getting our coop ready for chicks in the spring.

(3) What breeds do you have? What is the best breed to start off with?

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com? Recommended by a friend who owns chickens and by the Coastal employee who we asked questions about how to get started today.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies? Photography, hiking, reading, listening to music, family trips/get togethers, hosting parties

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share. I have a husband, three teenagers (17/13/12), one lap dog and a cat. I work full time as a federal employee.

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community? :D I've gathered some research and this site seemed to have a lot of good information all in one place.

Hi and welcome to BYC. I'd suggest starting off with a range of breeds - you will soon discover what breeds suit your needs and climate best.

On this link you'll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping birds - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archives