Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by WalnutRidge, Mar 3, 2013.

1. WalnutRidge

WalnutRidge New Egg

Feb 13, 2013
    Hi there! I am a newbie to byc and to the raising of chickens. My husband talked me into getting some chickens almost a year ago now. He had them when he was growing up and has been begging me for years, but I used to be afraid of chickens....yes, no joke. We purchase 12 chickens from what we thought was a reputable store. We were told they were egg layers and therefore all female. WRONG! We raised these little chicks in our basement until we had their home ready for them outside and of course when they were big enough to be put outside. But, before we ever got them outside a few of them started crowing!! Turned out that 10 of our 12 chicks were roosters! I was devastated, because I new we had to get rid of them, but I wasn't going to butcher them or give them to anyone who was. I treat all my animals like my children so, like I said I was devastated. I got a hold of the company we bought them from and they gave me 10 more chicks for free to make up for the roosters. Again, they said they were all egg layer breeds and all female. 1 of the 10 was a rooster. So, long story somewhat shortened, we now are the proud parents of 1 rooster from the first flock, his name is Mal and he is a cornish mixed breed and beautiful. We had 11 hens, but lost one recently, so now we have 10 beautiful girls. 2 are from the 1st batch and they are also cornish mixed, one is brown and white, her name is Brownie and the other is all white and her name is Piper. We have 4 silver wyondots (spelling?) their names are Stella, Izzy, Kailey, and Jet. I have 2 black sex links, Jada and Halle. We had 3 Buffs, Daisy, Violet and Lily, Lily is the one we lost.Some people think I'm crazy because I named them all and treat them like pets, but that's how I am.