1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by caryn, Mar 11, 2013.

1. caryn

caryn New Egg

Mar 10, 2013
    Washington State
    Hello, I've been coming to this forum for for a few months because it always comes up when I go searching for info for my new avocation as chicken (and one adorable Japanese banty rooster named Oedipus, for obvious reasons) owner and enthusiast. Had no idea how entertaining they were til I got them. I just posted a new thread though, to the sick chicken section, because I have one. But I am so frightfully new to all this, how do I know when someone responds to my thread? Do I get an email, or do I just keep coming back and checking....? Maybe my chickens know the answer to this mystery.... Thank you! Caryn

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG] Used to be when new posts were added you'd get an email notice. Then about a year or two ago, they redid the whole BYC server/website thingy and I still don't get notices. I come on many times a day to check - it's aggravating. But I don't want to miss anything.

3. caryn

caryn New Egg

Mar 10, 2013
    Washington State
    Thanks for the heads up. Another thing I couldn't figure out was how to add a photo. I can see where to add the photos to an individual post, but not to my profile part...which of course would provide me an opportunity to put my handsome Oeddie's face on my posts. Not a big deal but of course you know how proud we are of our flocks!

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hello and welcome to BYC [​IMG] Here's a how to for avatars:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/how-do-i-add-change-my-avatar