HELP!!! 101 on chicks ANSWER PLEASE!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Iheartchicks<3:), Aug 2, 2010.

1. Iheartchicks<3:)

Iheartchicks<3:) Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2010
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Okay so here goes...

I need to know anything and everything there is to know about baby chicks. im a newbie and im planning on getting some in a few weeks so i want to be fully prepared!!! Please try to give information on a personal level that websites don't include like behavior. [​IMG] Instead of searching through hundreds of pages on them im just going to ask a brood question!! Tell me all you know and post pics!!! Thanks!

Dominique

Last edited: Aug 2, 2010
  2. Darlasmum

Darlasmum Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2009
    La Crescenta, CA
    You are asking an awful lot here. Built a predator safe coop and run. Buy quality feed. www.Mypetchicken.com does have a search for different types of chickens based on laying and behaviors. I also found www.Thefeathersite.com helpful. May I suggest reading thru the BYC chick section, using the search button, and maybe a visit to your local library.

Last edited: Aug 2, 2010
  3. Iheartchicks<3:)

Aug 1, 2010
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Im just asking that if people have time (and if you have time to searh through hundreds of pages then you do) To give me bits and pieces of knowledge. I know the basics.. but i want to know from those that have actually had chicks and not just websites that say the same old thing... Sorry. Thanks though [​IMG]

4. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    Happy to help if you have specific questions.
    I got my first chicks this last April. However, I researched for months.
    The Urban Farm Store in Portland, OR, just outside of where I live, has some good basic info and timelines that you could read without having to pour through hundreds of threads.
    Also, from the home page of BYC you can click on Raising chickens 101.