Help! 2 ducks on 1 - my poor girl - what to do?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by kylee2katie, Jul 22, 2010.

1. kylee2katie

kylee2katie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2010
    Stuttgart, Arkansas
    I have a female pekin (Big Momma) that is 16 weeks old, a male runner (baby duck) who is the same age, and a male mallard that is 14 weeks (boom-boom). For several weeks she has been doing the head bobbing, come hither thing....no one cared - until this morning!
    I was filling the pools with clean water and she jumped in - boom boom jumped in and then on top of her - freaked me out - they have no shame and don't care who's watching!! but then baby duck jumped in and grabbed her neck in his bill and pushed her head under water - OMG!!! I sprayed him with the hose and he got out but the other two just kept at it.....
    why did he hold her head under? do I need to seperate them? intervene? do nothing? I am new at this - help! (edited to add picture of the 3 in question!!)

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 22, 2010
  2. AdamD77

AdamD77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Bedfordshire, England
    The pushing the head under is natural when they hold the back of the neck when mating, but if you see anything like the female struggling or trying to get air then intervene. I know it's horrible to watch and when my females are old enough I'm going to freak every time I see it but I think they should be left to get on with it really.

3. Hattiegun

Hattiegun Chillin' With My Peeps

4. kylee2katie

May 6, 2010
    Stuttgart, Arkansas
    Quote:I just read your post - OMG doesn't even scratch the surface....really glad I'm NOT a duck!! Any advice on how to explain this to a 6 year old?[​IMG]

5. Hattiegun

another BYC'er asked that also..(what do I tell my 5 yr old.) . lol I dont have any kids....

THese are my first ducks also and Ive read it all on what goes on
    BUT TO SEE IT:eek: ughhhhhhh.... I smacked poor Ramrod and he shot