Help 3 of my chickens are having their tail feathers plucked out

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Ellichicks, Apr 3, 2017.

1. Ellichicks

Ellichicks New Egg

Feb 5, 2017
    I'm new to chickens and I have 7 12 week old chickens, 2 buffs, 2 Easter Eggers, 2 cream legbars and one silkie. I've noticed my 2 cream legbars and 1 Easter eggers have had some of their tail feathers plucked out. I suspect my larger Easter egger is the one causing all of the problems. I've seen it peck birds on their back hard and my cream legbars run from it. However, I think the buffs are at the top of the pecking order and can't say they aren't responsible either, I know they like to eat feathers. I have my chicks on the medicated chick starter food. Do you think my big Easter egger is a roo? Also how do I stop this from happening? I don't want them to start cannibalizing each other

2. Ellichicks

Ellichicks New Egg

Feb 5, 2017
    [​IMG]

3. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    those both look female to me, how old are they? you may want to switch to a higher protein feed (like feather fixer) to help with the feather plucking behavior

or add some other protein type, like tuna or some other meat (chickens LOVE meat)

4. Ellichicks

Ellichicks New Egg

Feb 5, 2017
    They're 12 weeks. I'll add some protein right now. Thanks. How do I stop the feathers from being pulled out? Other than protein is there anything I need to do to help the birds that are being plucked?

5. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    not really, maybe some peepers

[​IMG]

6. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Chicken Obsessed

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE