Help!! Are My Roosters Feet going to fall off?!?

Harry'sMom

In the Brooder
Jan 18, 2018
IMG_3931.JPG
IMG_3936.PNG
Hi everyone, I am new to raising chickens.... and I live in Ohio where we have had the worst weather in a long time this winter :(

I had been letting my chickens free range completely... they have a 10x10' horse stall where all of their food and water is set up, and typically would end up roosting there for the night in a big batch of straw I have for them.

We had below zero weather for a couple of days, and I still let them come and go as they pleased, but one of them somehow got in my garage when I started my car one morning and stayed there all day while I was at work. when I came home to find him his feet were solid frozen. We slowly warmed them up and put him in a box with straw every night until they thawed out and I kept Vaseline on them everyday... he was running around fine until last week! He started babying one of his feet.... I noticed it was bleeding a little bit so I bought Vetercyin and it seemed to make him feel better... now he is babying the other foot!!

They are looking sort of green and gray... is his foot going to fall off?? I thought I had a better picture of his foot, but I don't so I had to screen shot it from a video. He is still standing on one foot holding his weight!! And is there anything I can do to prevent this??

I have the backs of his legs wrapped up with gauze soaked in Vetercyin because they were bleeding. I caught one of my other roosters attacking him so I have now separated him from the group

PS the bottom of his feet are super black from the dirt in the stall being collected by the vasoline. I want to wash his feet, but it is still too cold here and he can't live in my house. So I don't want to put him back out in the cold after a bath :(

I'm sorry to say, it appears he very well may lose the feet. I have witnessed the process myself, and I recognize the signs.