Help! Are we he's or she's???

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by stretch, Aug 4, 2007.

1. stretch

stretch New Egg

May 12, 2007
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Hi! Out of the five chicks we got out of my daughter's kindergarten class one has started to crow, so we know she's a he! We live in a residential neighborhood and can't keep "he's". I've found a great home for Mimi, and was wondering if ya'll can tell from the pictures if any others are roos? This is my first time with chickens and loving every minute of it! This has been an incredible experience, since we incubated them all, and my girls have been so active with the chickens! ps: my girls named them [​IMG]

[​IMG]

This is Happy Feet, our Partridge cochin, and it will be 9 weeks old tomorrow.

[​IMG]

This is Lucky our Ameraucana, 9 weeks.

[​IMG]

Here's Lucy our Golden Campine, 9 weeks.

[​IMG]

This is Lulu our Buff Orpington (supposed to be, but she has yellow legs), 9 weeks. She is shorter than Mimi our roo, so I'm hoping she's a girl!

[​IMG]

And this is our little Buff Orpington roo, Mimi who is leaving us tomorrow for greener and more open space! The picture was taken at 8 weeks.

So any guesses on gender would be great! I'm only going to be able to keep 2, at most 3. Thanks so much for your help!
    Lori

2. CoyoteMagic

CoyoteMagic RIP ?-2014

Lulu looks like a roo to me too.

Kind of iffy on Happy Feet, I don't know much about cochins.

3. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Oh Boy. I hope I am wrong... but everybody... at just 9 weeks?... looks like a boy except lucy. She's the only one without the pink/red comb thing going... females usually show red in their combs at about 4 months old. I hope I'm wrong here.

4. CoyoteMagic

CoyoteMagic RIP ?-2014

Was thinking the same thing, Mimi, Lulu and Happy Feet are boys for sure!

5. gingernutranger

gingernutranger Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2007