HELP- ASAP- chick not doing well, what do I do? I am a Newbie!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by LilbitChicken, May 15, 2009.

1. LilbitChicken

LilbitChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2009
    Well, I have been reading for 2 days....I have 8 chicks, (a few days old)and 1 isn't doing well. The first night he was the loudest, and got pushed around A LOT. The next day, he was covered in Poop! [​IMG] They all slept on him?[​IMG] The temp in the brooder was perfect....they all did their own thing....ate and drank normal.....he was last to eat......
    the next day......he was soaking wet? Was pushed in the water?
    I dried him and warmed him......no problem......last night the other chicks would just run into him, didn't notice him???[​IMG]
    Um.....TODAY, he doesn't walk very well, just stumbles around....everyone else is perfectly happy. Some sleep others eat, others play.....all different times.....BUT this little guy right here. (AND I MEAN RIGHT HERE- I have him in a warm dry wash cloth, and stuffed it in my shirt....so I can watch him and listen to him)
    He doesn't make much sound.[​IMG] He opens his beak, and it sounds like a soft click.......after I rub his little head, he looks up and gives a few soft chirps......but then nuzzles back and closes his eyes....

I am going CRAZY!!!! i don't know what to do!!!!! Help me?[​IMG]

2. LilbitChicken

May 5, 2009
    Hello? Anybody? I am a little frantic.[​IMG]

The chick is sleeping....making the little "clicking" sounds as he sleeps.. I keep checking on him, he still responds to my pestering. When I can't stand waiting anylonger!!!![​IMG]

But I just let him sleep....nice and cozy.[​IMG]

3. shaggy

shaggy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2009
    Orange, Texas
    sounds like you saved him/her from being trampled

i would keep it seperated from the others if you want to keep it alive --- maybe look to see if you have another one that is fairly docile to pair it with

4. countrybum