1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help ASAP with hole in 19 day old egg!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by alabamaterri, Jul 8, 2011.

1. alabamaterri

alabamaterri New Egg

Jul 8, 2011
    I went out to the coop and there was a hole (about half the size of a dime) that a rooster had pecked into a 19 day old egg. The chick is moving and I can see it breathing. It looks like the hole is near the wing of the chick. I brought the egg in, place a wet paper towel, loosely around it and placed it under a heat lamp at around 100 degrees. 12 hours later, nothing else has happened but the chick is still breathing. [​IMG]

WHAT do I need to do? I usually buy baby chicks. This is my first time of having a hen lay one. I found this site by searching on youtube and watching someone assist in cracking the shell open and helping one out. Should I do that? Should I just leave it alone?

Help!!!!!!
    Terri

2. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

At day 19 the chick should be fine... leave it to hatch on it's own for now.. a little too early to intervene.. Just keep the humidity up and keep it warm .. do you have an incubator?

3. alabamaterri

alabamaterri New Egg

Jul 8, 2011
    No, I don't have an incubator. Just a heat lamp. [​IMG] and am keeping it moist with a wet paper towel. Anything else to do? or watch for?

4. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I would consider putting it back under the hen.
    Otherwise you have to get the humidity over 50 % but not too high. 100-101.
    Don't do anything else, helping rarely works.

5. alabamaterri

alabamaterri New Egg

Jul 8, 2011