Help! bald patches on my hens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chickenmama88, Sep 2, 2016.

1. Chickenmama88

Chickenmama88 New Egg

Apr 14, 2016
    Ok this is my first time raising chickens and i know it can be common for a rooater to puck the feathers off a hens backside when mating. Which i have 3 hens and 2 roosters and all my hens have bald patches one with more damage than others which i know that one must be their favorite. But I haven't noticed it until today because my husband normally watches them but my hens are bald amd have black hard areas around where they are bald almost looks like the rooster have toen off skin amd it has harden around ot or something. Again this may be normal but really don't know the anatomy of a hens and I am worried they have an opened wound /infection and I am worried if it's even safe to eat their eggs tgey are producing. Also one hen hasn't been laying long but now she has stopped laying for almost 2 weeks could something be wrong due to her back because she looks the worst as far as the bald patches go. Thanks in advance

2. Mrs. K

Mrs. K Overrun With Chickens

Nov 12, 2009
    western South Dakota
    Often times this time of year, the feathers are old, and they look like H3!!. They should be shortly going into molt, in which they will shed a lot of feathers, if the roosters are mounting them, those feathers come off first. As the molt progresses, new feathers grow in, the days get short, and the roosters are a little less interested. So your birds should improve in looks in the next few weeks. Once a bird is barebacked, they will not regrow feathers until they molt. They generally molt in the fall.