sunflowerfancies

Hatching
Sep 25, 2018
Hello there,

So I'm new to chicken raising, and I majorly screwed up. In my mixed flock of 11, I have two Brahmas..a rooster and a hen. Both of them have scaly leg. All the other chickens are fine. It's my fault, I neglected to clean the roost as often as I should have. Here's what's going on. I will post pictures tomorrow once it's daylight.

WHEN--

I noticed the problem on Saturday, the 22nd. I've kicked myself every day since for not catching it sooner.

ROOSTER, Little Brown--

-Severely raised scales on legs
-Bright red and swollen skin on legs...like gross swollen...super bumpy and nothing like his legs used to look like.
-Bright red skin under tail and on belly, sensitive to touch
-Broken and bleeding feather shafts on feet
-Two dark blotches on underside of his toes on one foot. NOT in center of foot like typical bumblefoot.

Other than what I have listed, he is completely normal. No change in behavior at all, no signs of distress except when I have been examining/handling said areas. He is just over a year old.

HEN, Ashley--

-Slightly raised scales on feet
-A few red patches of skin here and there under tail, belly, tiny bit here and there on thighs.
-Broken and bleeding feather shafts on feet

No other changes at all.

ENVIRONMENT--
COOP--

I did not keep it as clean as I should have, and the Rooster especially has had a dirty area. He likes to sit on the flat surface above the nesting boxes, with a few of the younger hens snuggling with him... which ends up deep in poop. He just won't go to the roosts, never has...that has ALWAYS been his spot....I didn't keep it scraped...so he sits in grossness all night. My fault. MY STUPID FAULT.

RUN--

It's dirt, and they dig holes in it to have their dust baths. I periodically put fresh dirt in there when it gets too compacted so they have plenty. In wet seasons I put straw down so they aren't always standing in mud.

WHAT I'VE DONE SO FAR--

Chickens--