1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP! Broody disaster :'(

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by crazycluck86, Mar 8, 2013.

1. crazycluck86

crazycluck86 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2013
    uk
    Hi there, im new to chicken keeping (almost 12 months) and I have a brahma hen, dottie, that has gone broody. I bought 6 fertile eggs yeadterday and put them under her. She has bern brilliant only leaving the nest to eat/drink/poo once a day. However, I was advised not to move her from the rest of the flock and my other orpingon hen has layed an egg this morning knocking all hut two of the eggs out of the nest. I have no idea how long they were there for, and one of the eggs was dented/cracked but the membrane still intact. I have since seperated her and she is sitting happily back on the eggs but wil they be ok? Im so worried....please help! Any advice much appreciated. X

2. gimmie birdies

gimmie birdies Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2013
    Eastern WA
    The dented egg might be eatten if you leave it. I have had dented ones before hoping the hen would not notice but they usually do and eat it.

1 person likes this.
  3. Kilsharion

Kilsharion Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2013
    Landstown
    My Coop
    While growing up, we always removed the broody from the rest of the flock while she was setting. Mostly to keep her protected from aggression from other hens and to protect the eggs.

As for the dented/cracked egg. If you can get fingernail polish, or liquid bandage on it, it should do just fine. Keep an eye on it and make sure it's not being pecked at. And, if at all possible, I - personally - would move the broody to her own enclosure. Others may disagree, and I bow to their superior knowledge [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  4. crazycluck86