1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP- Buff Orpington- IS THIS A ROO ??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Little Chicken Farmers, Jun 3, 2008.

1. Little Chicken Farmers

Little Chicken Farmers Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2008
    Canby , Oregon
    So this little chicken is about 9 weeks old...I am thinking it is a Roo?? My other BO does not have any of the red markings. What do the experts think? My two BO's were straight run but the lady at Coastal said she picked pullets by looking at there wings...[​IMG]
    I dont mind having a Roo.... maybe he will get my lazy self out of bed a little earlier! [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Alaska animal lover

Alaska animal lover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2008
    Palmer, Alaska
    I am not an expert, I don't even know what my Buff O's are but it dosen't look all that red to me. I thought if they were roos the comb would be bright red.
    I would say girl, but please don't bet money on me!
    This is my first guess ever![​IMG]

3. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    I'm going to say a hen. Combs on my buff orp roos at that age were bright red and shaped differently, they were already getting wattles too. Of course I've only had mine since last August so I'm certainly no expert at telling them young. [​IMG]

4. Little Chicken Farmers

May 26, 2008
    Canby , Oregon
    This is my other BO.... She doesn't have the same red markings on her face. The other one doesnt have a big comb but all the red on his face....he is also a little bit bigger and seems to stand more upright. They are both super sweet and mellow.... I never new chickens were so friendly!! I think the BO's are my fav [​IMG]