Help! Buff's comb is black, bloody and falling off!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by NC DixieChick, Oct 30, 2011.

1. NC DixieChick

NC DixieChick New Egg

Oct 10, 2011
    Eek! I am new to this backyard chicken thing and am kinda freaking out. Have been gone for a few hours and come home to find my beautiful Buff Orpington named Ginger with a bloody comb. It isn't just bloody...it is all but severed off! All black and flopped over. Seriously looks like something sharp sliced into it.

I have NO idea how this happened. My gals are not allowed to free range due to city restrictions so they are confined to their coop and enclosed 8X4 run. Ginger is the "middle" gal in the pecking order of three hens. Could one of the others have done this to her? It is really severe....hanging by a thread and turning black. Ewww...

Will her comb grow back? She doesn't seem to be bothered by it...still pecking around and otherwise acting normal. What should I do? I don't really have a way to separate her and they are not allowed to be out of their cage b/c of ordinances. Should I call a vet? Just watch it and see what happens?

I've only had by backyard girls for 2 months, so I am a newbie owner. Any advice anyone can offer will be welcomed and appreciated.

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    Perhaps someone pecked her and the rest saw a little blood and went after it? I don't know. My first thought would be to make sure it is not still bleeding.

3. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama