Help! Can a chicken be eggbound with her first egg?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by cleopatra, Nov 28, 2012.

1. cleopatra

cleopatra Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2012
    South Texas
    I have a 27 week old campine. She hasn't started laying yet, although her comb has started to develop. She is walking (almost waddling) around slowly with her wings and tail down. When she walks around, her tail kind of pumps up and down. She is sitting down often. Her vent is clean as well as the area around it. I found some firm (not runny) bloody poop for the past two nights. This may be intestinal shedding but I could use some help from you guys determining this. She is eating and drinking well. Her feathers are ruffled along with her wierd posture. She seems alert. I started the whole flock on corid because of the bloody stool and gave her a little olive oil in case of a blockage. Her abdomen isn't firm or extended as far as I can tell, but since I'm new to this, I really don't know. All I know is my sweet little bird hasn't been right for the past two days and I'm quite worried. Any help you guys can give me would be sooooo appreciated.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Debbi

Debbi Overrun With Chickens

May 2, 2010
    Missouri