HELP!! Chick are hatching under hen don't know what to do next!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by BlessedbyHim, Nov 4, 2013.

1. BlessedbyHim

BlessedbyHim Out Of The Brooder

Sep 13, 2013
    Indiana
    I am very new at this. We have a hen that went broody and the chicks are starting to hatch. We can hear chicks peeping and we can't see anything. we let her stay in her nesting spot. It is totally inclosed, but other hens have access to it too. It is about 50 degrees in the barn if not colder. they just hatched this evening. Should we move her and take the chicks and but them in our brooder or leave them and put a heat lamp on momma and babies. Please help we don't want to lose them….my 7 year old daughter would be crushed!

2. BlessedbyHim

Sep 13, 2013
    Indiana
    Ok we went back out and there are five little chicks and they are so cute!!food and water are ready and momma is keeping them warm. There are about ten more eggs to hatch and we will wait three more days until we move her and the chicks to the brooder. I think this is the best way to do this. Any suggestions??

3. Mehjr10

Mehjr10 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2012
    Moscow, TN
    She will keep them warm and protect them as best as she can, but if you have other birds that may be aggressive to the chicks after all have hatched and she leaves the nest you may need to seperate them from the rest of the flock. My broodys are very protective and she will run off all who get too close.

Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  4. BlessedbyHim

Sep 13, 2013
    Indiana
    She is basically in a trough, along the barn wall, where a few hens like to lay. If we move her now and her eggs, will she continue to sit on them in a new spot?

5. Mehjr10

May 17, 2012
    Moscow, TN