Help! chick with closed eye

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by CracyLee, Mar 13, 2012.

1. CracyLee

CracyLee New Egg

Mar 12, 2012
    I got three bantam chicks last week. One of the chicks had a closed eye from the beginning. I have full grown chickens but I'm brand new at raising chicks. And after all the different things I've read trying to figure this out, now I'm more confused. Mainly I don't want to do too much and end up hurting her. I've been cleaning it with a damp paper towel, and it began to open around day 4. There is a clear goop that keeps coming out and although I've been cleaning it off it forms a little bit of a crust, and makes it hard for the chick to open again. I read alot of posts that said to use neosporin, so I tried that last night and this morning but haven't seen any change. I also read to use Duramycin/Tetracycline, I work at a feed store so that certainly wasn't a problem getting, but now I'm terrified I'll overdose the tiny baby! So as I sit here reading post after post, staring at my bag of antibiotic powder, I figured I'd just ask my own question, and HOPE someone answers soon????

2. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

I use a teaspoon per quart chick watered of the powder.

3. CracyLee

CracyLee New Egg

Mar 12, 2012
    THANK YOU! Is it ok for my other bantams to drink it too as a precaution or will it hurt them since they don't have any signs of the same issue?

4. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

I would seperate the chick and watch the others.

5. the1much

the1much Currently Birdless Hippy

the others will pick on him if they figure out hes hurt,, thats jus nature. seperate him and if u can,, stick a warm tea bag on his eye 2 or 3 tinmes a day.

6. CracyLee

CracyLee New Egg

Mar 12, 2012