HELP!! Chicken bullying!

Fee1inclucky

In the Brooder
Oct 27, 2022
Hi,

I’m fairly new to chicken keeping and had three bantams (Silkie, goldtop and Wyandotte) that were getting on really well. Now they are at POL I decided to add two more POL bantams (polish and millefleur). I have tried to do it gradually by keeping the existing chickens in a cage next to the usual run and letting the two newbies have free range of the run for a couple of days. I then let them mingle for an hour at dusk before sleeping them separately. Last night they actually all slept all together fine.

HOWEVER, during the day my three existing chickens will not stop picking on my millefleur. They literally chase her around the run in circles and she ends up hiding under the feeder. The Polish is very docile (almost too much) and just stands there doing nothing. She gets a little bit pecked but generally they aren’t bothered with her.

The existing chickens all bully my Millefleur equally but I tried removing the Goldtop who I thought was head hen. Then the Silkie just got worse. To be honest I’m not even sure who is head hen😂I have now taken two of them out now but she still gets picked on by the remaining one.

I can’t see any injuries on her or sickness, she’s just smaller than the rest.

What should I do???? Finding it difficult as there is no clear individual bully-they’re all mean to her. I know there’s the pecking order but they seem to chase who just for moving!

TIA

I have tried to do it gradually by keeping the existing chickens in a cage next to the usual run and letting the two newbies have free range of the run for a couple of days.
A couple days is not usually enough.

Here's some tips about.....
Integration Basics:
It's all about territory and resources(space/food/water).
Existing birds will almost always attack new ones to defend their resources.
Understanding chicken behaviors is essential to integrating new birds into your flock.