Help choose-days old vs. weeks old

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by UrbanHenBilly, Jun 18, 2010.

1. UrbanHenBilly

UrbanHenBilly Out Of The Brooder

Jun 5, 2010
    Hello all,
    I'm about ready to acquire my starting flock and have two choices. I would certainly appreciate your input, as I have NO experience.

Option1
    6-7 weeks old chicks about a 30min drive from my house. Barred Rocks and Easter Eggers

Option 2
    2-3 week old chicks BR and EE, and some days-old Barnevelders. About 3 hours round trip.

My real concern comes from the fact that I work, and so I'm away from the house for 9-10 hours per day. I read that newly-hatched chicks need nearly constant attention. Is this true?

I'm starting to lean towards the idea of getting the older local birds, gaining experience with them, and then getting day-old Barnevelders in the spring when I have know more about them. That wouldn't be nearly as satisfying as the kid-in-a-candy-store-I-want-it-all-now mode that I'm in, but might be better for everyone involved. At the same time, my kids would miss out on the warm fuzzy little monsters running around and looking all cute and helpless.

What would your recommendation be?
    Thanks for your help!
    Bill

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Hmmm. Hmmmmm. Hmmmmmmmm.

I work a 9 hour day, which actually come out a 10 hour day, and I have raised chicks. You just have to make sure you have things set up okay, and "make up" for the chunk o' time you haven't been able to check on them. Always top off their water and feed before you leave. Always check their little bottoms for pasty butt before you leave. Always make sure they are active and healthy before you leave.

Do the same thing as soon as you get in the door after work.