Help Choosing Breeds

chicklover56

Songster
7 Years
Jun 1, 2015
Kansas
Hello Everyone!

So I went to TSC and they had only straight run, so I grabbed an order form. I am pretty new to chickens (got my first batch of 9 last summer) and I want to add some different breeds to the flock. There were a total of 32 breeds on the list, and I narrowed it down to 10.

The breeds are I like are...
1. Black Australorp
2. Minorca
3. Dark Brahma
4. Cochins (assorted colors)
5. Dominique
6. Blue Langshan
7. Cuckoo Maran
8. New Hampshire Red
9. Plymouth Rock (white)
10. Welsummer

I have to get at least 25 chicks, but I can only get 2 different breeds, so to help me narrow it down I would like everyone to vote by adding a 1 number (higher than the last) to the end of the title of the breed. You can vote for two breeds. Also, any cons to these different types of birds would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:
Or any pros to them. Pretty much general information would be greatly appreciated with the help of narrowing my choices down. Thank you again!

Last edited:
You could order from somewhere else and get a better variety. What are you wanting out of your birds? Eggs? Meat? Pets? Different breeds for different needs. Lighter breeds will lay more but be flighty, bigger birds lay less but are generally calmer and more friendly.

I think Australorps and barred rock are good all around birds.

1. Black Australorp 1
2. Minorca
3. Dark Brahma
4. Cochins (assorted colors)
5. Dominique
6. Blue Langshan
7. Cuckoo Maran
8. New Hampshire Red
9. Plymouth Rock (white)
10. Welsummer 1

You could order from somewhere else and get a better variety. What are you wanting out of your birds? Eggs? Meat? Pets? Different breeds for different needs. Lighter breeds will lay more but be flighty, bigger birds lay less but are generally calmer and more friendly.

I think Australorps and barred rock are good all around birds.
I'm wanting eggs, but I would also like calmer breeds.