HELP!!! completely shell less/no membrane egg?

MichelleMillar

Chirping
Apr 11, 2021
This has been happening on and off as far as I know so far it’s only one hen so far. Can this be from stress? I’m new to chickens and I’ve been off to a rocky start. Any help is or advice is welcome... I do provide free choice oyster shells as well as layer feed.

Attachments

• F11A6BBA-C408-47DF-B678-3F545C719A0A.jpeg
    F11A6BBA-C408-47DF-B678-3F545C719A0A.jpeg
    796.1 KB · Views: 11
When I had that happen it was recommended that I give the pullet doing that a calcium tablet once per day until she laid a normal egg then for 3 days after that. I've had oyster shell out since then and I've still have to give her a calcium pill every other week or so. I have calcium in capsules so I sprinkle the powder over a little feed and get it damp to make a mash. She loved it, and it's been working.

I'm not sure if it is stress related, I don't think my pullet's issues were from stress, I'm guessing she doesn't process calcium as well or she just takes more.

When I had that happen it was recommended that I give the pullet doing that a calcium tablet once per day until she laid a normal egg then for 3 days after that. I've had oyster shell out since then and I've still have to give her a calcium pill every other week or so. I have calcium in capsules so I sprinkle the powder over a little feed and get it damp to make a mash. She loved it, and it's been working.

I'm not sure if it is stress related, I don't think my pullet's issues were from stress, I'm guessing she doesn't process calcium as well or she just takes more.

Sorry if this sounds silly but did you have to separate her? How did you give it to just her.