1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP! Day 22 and eggs chirping

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by freemanj, Mar 6, 2015.

1. freemanj

freemanj Out Of The Brooder

Mar 6, 2015
    So I am a newbie at hatching eggs. I have a dinky incubator with a temp around 99.5 and humidity around 55 right now. It is day 22, and earlier today (1 pm) an egg was chirping and shaking. The day before, two eggs were shaking but no noise, and now have stopped! The one chirping egg has quieted now and shakes a tiny bit, occasionally. Is it time to help the little guy out? Im so stressed!

2. BonRae67

BonRae67 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 23, 2014
    Florida
    Get your temp a little to about 100.5 and raise the humidity to 65 - 70. Sometimes they come a little later so don't give up on them. Do you have any pips?

3. freemanj

Mar 6, 2015
    No pips yet, thats why Im worried that my chirping egg is running out of oxygen. I am also too scared to open the incubator and pick it up to see if I get any response. Should I give them one more night? Currently on West Coast time. Note that my chirping egg was vocal around 1 pm and is now silent...... except I think I saw it shake an hour ago. Or maybe I just want it to be true.

4. BonRae67

Dec 23, 2014
    Florida
    They'll take long breaks because hatching is stressful and tiring. I am sure you will see pips soon. I know this is hard, but not watching will be less stressful on you. Good luck and keep us posted.

5. freemanj

Mar 6, 2015
    You're right, thank you. I started to read some former threads about people in my situation and saw some real horror and miracle stories, made me a little anxious to get to doing some open egg surgery if necessary. I suppose I will give them the night to think about coming out