Help! Dead baby rabbits

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thienthanhtran, Jan 8, 2015.

1. thienthanhtran

thienthanhtran New Egg

Jan 8, 2015
    Hi i have been breeding bunnies for 4 years now and nothing has turned out bad until
    Recently.
    My new hollabd lop a first time mom had 8 kits
    They all seemed healthy but at 5 days I found
    One really weak with flat bellies and it died.
    I checked the other 7 kits and they all had round bellies.
    The next morning...at 7 am I found 2 more
    Dead with skinny bellies.
    I checked the other 5 and their bellies R super fat!
    I have 5 kits of 8 :(
    What's wrong? Could it be that the mom
    Is not producing enough milk ?
    Funny thing is the 3 that died were not the runts they were the bigger ones of the litter!
    The smaller ones R fine so far.
    They r almost a week old now
    Could the mom have stepped on them by mistake ?

Any help would be appreciated !

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

I am so sorry about your bunnies. [​IMG] I don't know anything about rabbits. You might want to post this in a couple places. We have lots of rabbit owners in our Other Pets and Livestock forums....https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/22/other-pets-livestock

And we also have a sister site, Back Yard Herds that might be of some help as well...http://www.backyardherds.com/

I sure hope someone can help you with your babies in one or both of these places. [​IMG]

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Sorry to hear of your losses. I can't offer any advice but, a similar thing used to happen with litters of puppies I had.