HELP!! Dead chicks under broody hen!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by labsani, Dec 14, 2014.

1. labsani

labsani New Egg

Oct 23, 2014
    Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to raising chickens and need some advice. I have previously had a hen hatch and raise eggs and all went 100% as planned.

My RIR has been sitting on 12 eggs and they were due to hatch today (21 days). I have been on holidays for the last 7 days and have had a neighbour checking in on my chickens and broody hen which is in a separate pen to the others.

When I arrived this afternoon, I ran straight down to the coop only to find a dead chick, yellow and fluffy on the ramp which leads from the water up to the nesting box. Shocked I moved the broody hen of the eggs only to find another wet looking dead chick underneath her :(

I am not sure on what to do here as I am too scared to loose all the eggs if she is killing them? I originally started with 15 eggs underneath her (she is a first time broody) as my neighbour gave me her fertile eggs. Over the 21 days there have been some crushed (eaten?) eggs under her, which i have cleaned up and removed. I just assumed that maybe there were too many and they cracked by accident? When I left there were 12 eggs under her, now there are only 9, which doesn't add up as there was only 2 dead chicks...

I have removed the eggs from her and placed in a cardboard box with hay underneath and a 25W bulb to keep them warm. Will this be enough? Should I have left them with her and risked it? I have placed 6 non fertile eggs underneath her as she is still happy sitting on them in the hope that I could place the hatched chicks underneath her and monitor her reaction?

Is there any advice on what I should be doing?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!

2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia

3. labsani

labsani New Egg

Oct 23, 2014