HELP!! Don't know what to do, sick chicken?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by athalia17, Oct 15, 2015.

1. athalia17

athalia17 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2015
    Farmington, mn
    Background: I hatched out my own chicks (second time doing it). I did not feed them medicated food. This is my first year with chickens. They are about 7 weeks old. One was quite a bit smaller than the other 5 chicks in the same hatch. She still has little baby feathers at the tip of her big feathers and her frame is small. She always kept her head tucked in since I can remember. I took them off heat at 6 weeks, according to an article I read- that was what I was supposed to do.

Problems: I noticed the little one was moving slower. The next day after taking them off the heat- I found her in a little ball. She wasn't moving much so I put her under a gentle heat lamp. She wasn't eating, not drinking, and sleeping a lot. I gave her electrolytes and probiotics (sav-a-chick). Hours later she was opening her eyes a little more so I fried her up an egg. She ate it down over an hour or two. She started drinking a little more too (before I was giving it to her in an eye dropper. Her feces is very runny, smelly, and fairly bright green (green crumbles- food?)- with a lot of white thrown in. She is now not really wanting to drink again and only wants to eat eggs, no chick crumble. She is up and moving slowly now and for the last couple days. She does start to shiver as she falls asleep or stands too long- and breaths fairly heavily. I heard a click each time she would breath (not a rattle, just one click in and out).