Help!! First time incubating eggs--Sticky chick?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by marycorbin, Mar 18, 2016.

1. marycorbin

marycorbin Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2016
    This is my first time hatching eggs. I borrowed a still air incubator with an auto turner. My temps were off at the start of incubation (a little too low, but I got a new themometer and everything was good from then on). On day 18, we candled the eggs (8 of the 12 were good, 3 we couldn't see well, and one was undeveloped), increased the humidity and waited, suspecting we'd have a late hatch because of the temps.
    I woke up the morning of the 22nd day with a hatched chick, one unzipped egg, and two pipped eggs (but completely broken through membrane and shell)...and soon had 2 hatched. They were stumbling around and slamming all the other eggs around. :/ One of the pipped eggs stopped moving for an hour or so. I panicked and asked an old farmer friend what to do and he said get scoop the hatched ones out quickly and close it back up. So I did.
    Nothing changed for an hour-- the one that pipped but was still, still wasn't moving, and the other pipped one was chirping away. Then the active one went still and hasn't moved all day.
    Did I kill this poor baby when I opened the incubator? The humidity did drop for a few minutes, but it's well over 70 now (75ish).
    When do you assist? Is there any point with no movement for over 4 hours (are they already dead)? Is there anything I can besides wait?

2. marycorbin

Mar 18, 2016
    Those two are dead. :( It looks like one is shrink wrapped (my fault I suppose, from when I opened the incubator to remove the hatched chicks), and the other I'm not sure, it looks like it just gave up. I'm super sad about it, especially the one that I am at fault for. :(
    I keep getting conflicting advice: "never open the incubator" "definitely get the active chicks out" "Leave active chicks in" "it doesn't matter either way".....