HELP half duck eggs were eaten, how can i save the rest

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ktrayn, May 5, 2017.

1. ktrayn

ktrayn Out Of The Brooder

Nov 23, 2016
    A little female duck ive been feeding for about 8 months laid some eggs a week ago across the street from my house under my neighbors bay window. Her mom was basically a throw away someone left in the pond beside my house. Anyway her Mom amd the other babies grew and left the pond but this sweet girl stayed. Im very protective of her to say the least.
    This morning when i went out to feed her she wasnt at her nest but standing near the pond. Her back feathers were ruffled and i had a bad feeling something was wrong. I threw the feed in the water and she went in the water but wouldn't eat, she was drinking but woukdnt eat. I walked over to her nest and noticed everything in disarray. Two eggs were cracked open and eaten but it looks like 2 are still in tact.
    What can i do to help her and the unhatched eggs?
    If i move them to a safe location in my garage will she follow? Now that 2 were eaten will she go back to the nest?
    Any ideas or recommendations???
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 5, 2017
  2. ktrayn

Nov 23, 2016
    She is just standing on the sidewalk near the nest but not going back to it. :(
    [​IMG]

3. ktrayn

Nov 23, 2016
    [​IMG]
    Her feathers on her back are still ruffled. Shes gone back to the nest twice but only close by, not in the nest. Shes stays for a few minutes then walks to the sidewalk and back to the pond. Its like she's afraid of whatever that was coming back. Im so afraid she wont go back to them and more afraid whatever it was will come back for a second helping. :( i wish there was something i could do to help her.

4. DwayneNLiz

DwayneNLiz ...lost... Premium Member

Jun 18, 2013
    NH
    moving a ducks nest is not easy, sometimes they will take to the new location sometimes not