Help. Have question on DLM and dont want to remove current litter.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by rambler4681, Apr 7, 2017.

1. rambler4681

rambler4681 Just Hatched

Feb 10, 2017
    kunkletown,pa
    Ok newbie here. Hope this is the right forum. Been in learning center so i hope i got this right. Anyway to my question. I have an 8'x12' pallet style coop. My roof leaked this past rainstorm and all my litter got wet. Not soaked but wet. I have excellent ventalation and i just put a heat lamp in to aid in the drying. With me just starting the DLM can the litter i have in there that is now damp be left in while it dries (maybe a day or two) or should i just scrap all of it and start again? I dont want to put the birds at risk or start off on the wrong foot. Any help and info would be welcomed.

Note: money is tight right now so most cost effective would also be helpful
    I have 10 BR's and 5 BO's
    Floor is plywood with a 1/4 to 1/2 of soil then pine and papper shavings.
    The entire top is open about 10inchs from roof to top of wall
    Pallet boards were adjustrd to close up gaps enough to not be drafty to allow airflow
    Flip up storm shutters are in place to close during storms to prevent blowing rain
    There is about a 6inch overhang around entire coop also

Hope that helps. Will try to post pics also

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    For the deep litter method to work and turn the litter and poop into compost, it needs to be a bit damp. Otherwise the microbes and bugs that turn it into compost can’t live and reproduce. When it gets wet the microbes go from aerobic (air-breathing) to anaerobic, these can stink and get slimy. The exact same thing happens in a regular compost pile.