Help... Hen has stopped laying and won't come out of the nesting box

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jodoherty1, Jan 20, 2011.

1. jodoherty1

jodoherty1 New Egg

Jan 20, 2011
    I must begin by saying I am VERY new to chicken keeping. I have 4 hens all about 26-30 weeks. My beautiful hen who is about 30 weeks old and is my only hen laying so far has been giving us a small (46grams) egg every 3 out of 4 days for about a month now. The last three days she has not laid an egg and will not come out of the nesting box unless I forcibly remove her. There is no sign of fighting in the hen house and when I do remove her to free range she is eating and drinking ok and getting on with the other hens, however will return asap to the nesting box. When I approach the nesting box she puffs up and her belly feels warm. She is not roosting at night with the other three ladies. Her feathers look healthy and there are no signs of sickness. Please help me..........is she egg bound?? is she brooding?? would she brood and stop laying?? I am a complete novice.

2. abluechipstock

abluechipstock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2009
    fort ashby, wv
    sounds like broody to me

3. jodoherty1

jodoherty1 New Egg

Jan 20, 2011
    How to I stop her brooding without having to purchase any chicks......my hen house is full!

4. eenie114

eenie114 Completly Hopeless

Quote:From what I've heard, put her in a cage with a wire bottom, and limited bedding to discourage nest building, and keep her in there 'til she comes to her senses. [​IMG] Or, you could buy fertile eggs to put under her and start watching the calender, then just sell the chicks. [​IMG]

5. jodoherty1

jodoherty1 New Egg

Jan 20, 2011
    If I leave her with no eggs underneath her - how long should she brood for?

6. Chickenfortress

Chickenfortress Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2008