Help! Hen swollen and lethargic....

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jedchops2003, Sep 19, 2011.

1. jedchops2003

jedchops2003 New Egg

Sep 15, 2011
    Hi,

Complete novice so please excuse my lack of technical knowledge and also chicken parts..... I have 14 hens, ex free range farm. Yesterday one of the hens seemed tired and lacked interest in food. This morning she didn't run to the feeding pot. She is drinking and I've been in and fed her some meal worms which she had no trouble with.

On the downside she seems bloated and puffed out....here's were my lack of knowledge really kicks in. Just below her neck there is a large ball which the other chickens have too but hers seems larger. It is fairly soft to touch.

I have tried checking around her bottom area to see if she is egg bound but not really sure what I'm feeling for although I definately couldn't feel an egg (again not sure if checking in exactly right place!)

Her crest is pale and fairly small but this hasn't changed.

We've only had them for just over a week so at this stage I've no idea whether she's ever laid an egg (we don't get 14 per day) but she has no loss of feathers.

The rest of the hens are lively and well so am worried about this one.

Sorry for waffling.......anyone any thoughts/advice?

2. Animalian

Animalian Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2011
    Australia
    If there an egg there it will be very obvious. I worked out one of my quail had an egg stuck before I even knew what being eggbound was! (I was 12)

Maybe she has a blockage in her crop? That could make it larger than the other girls'. Not sure how to treat it though, someone here will know!

Put some vitamins in her water because at least that will get through and keep her energy up. Also keep her warm.

3. jedchops2003

jedchops2003 New Egg

Sep 15, 2011
    By her crop does this mean the neck or the puffy ball thing on the chest? (must sound like a total numbski!!)

4. Animalian