Help I have to chase my ducks !!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by dixygirl, May 24, 2008.

1. dixygirl

dixygirl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    OK I pick up the chicken real easily. But the ducks run from me and I bought them at the same time.

The ducks literally flee from me when i try to catch them to bring them indoors for the night. So, I have to RUN after ducks at night to bring them in. I tried herding them with a pole, but i guess i am not good at it because they went everywhere!

What bothers me is that just a few weeks ago they were following behind me like a mother duck. Now that they are huge they don't follow me anymore and i have to catch them to pick them up. I put them all in a big basket and carry them inside. Then one of them squeeks like i am killing him.

Any suggestions at all?
    :|

Last edited: May 24, 2008
  2. keeperofthehearth

keeperofthehearth Chillin' With My Peeps

Will they follow the chickens in? I herd my chicks in with a broom and my mallards follow them into the shed/coop. I've finally got the ducks going into their separate pen in the shed for the night. Once everyone is in the shed I just close the shed door behind me and open the ducks pen door & they hustle right in. Well sometimes [​IMG] Good luck and I hope you can find something that works for you.

3. momma's chickens

momma's chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2008
    Idaho
    Well I have no words of wisdom for you, because my one week old baby ducks want nothing to do with me. Everybody says ducks are so friendly, right.! [​IMG] Mine run all around the brooder box trying to get away from me. I swear mine hate me!

Sorry I have no advice for you and I went off on a rant of my own. Somebody will have some advice I am sure. [​IMG]

4. Henrietta23

Henrietta23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2007
    Eastern CT