HELP I need advice on hatching incubated chicks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by koris, Feb 5, 2014.

1. koris

koris Out Of The Brooder

Feb 5, 2014
    Colorado
    So I am new to incubating chicken eggs. Last spring I had a banny chicken do the job for me, but a month after she went missing. (we live in the country with lost of predators). That being said, I LOVE CHICKENS, I am know as the crazy chicken lady! I currently have 23 chickens, 2 being roosters. I bought an incubator and put 16 eggs in. I was worried about storing them so I had to put them in 3 days apart from 1st day to 3rd day. Day one was #'s 1-4, day two 5-9, day three 10-16. I have had temp fluctuation during incubation due to living in a single-wide and the only source of heat is our wood stove. The fluctuation haven't been to bad and nothing lower than 97 and higher than 104. For the most part the still air little giant incubator stays 100-102 degrees. I have only had 2 deaths amonst the 16 eggs, (both early deaths). Well, lock-down for day one is friday, day two is saturday and day three is sunday! I am trying to make a hatch box for them with a plastic cooler ( still working out the kinks). I am so worried about hatch day. If i can't get the hatch box to work should i just do a lock down saturday for the chicks and hope for the best???? I am afraid of them dying because of me!! I also think I am going to hatch with a lower humidity ( I live in a dry climate). The humidity now stays between 45-50 degrees. I think i will only raise it to 60-65.....
    ANY ADVICE WILL BE APPRECIATED! HAS ANYONE MADE THERE OWN COOLER HATCH BOX? SHOULD I JUST DO LOCK DOWN ALL THE SAME DAY? SHOULD I DO LOCK DOWN AND KEEP ROLLING THE LAST 2 SETS UNTIL THEIR LOCK DOWN?????? I AM SO STRESSED AND WORRIED!!!

2. dheltzel

dheltzel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Nov 30, 2013
    Pottstown, PA