HELP! I need help deciding whether or not to get quail and what breed?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Vnctan, May 14, 2010.

1. Vnctan

Vnctan Songster

Apr 4, 2010
    Bangor,CA 95914
    I am kind of interested in getting some quail to breed to sell locally and also to sell the eggs but I am wondering what kind of market there is for quail. What breed has the highest demand? They aren't too many people within a few hours of me that even sell quail so I think that it might do well in my area but how many people actually want quail meat and eggs? Are they hard to care for? Time consuming? Messy? Any info would be appreciated.

2. I am pretty new at this myself, but I have hatched my first batch with a 70% hatch rate and only three losses after two weeks. I can't tell you much, except to tell you what I did.

I suggest you start by reading the FAQ sticky at the top of this message board. Then read through the pages and pages of posts on the quail board. Then google raising quail. After a few months of reading, you will have a pretty good idea of what questions still remain to be answered and you can post them here. I am not trying to discourage you from posting, but such a broad general question is difficult to answer. It would take dozens, if not hundreds, of pages to respond adequately, not to mention the fact that the answers are already here somewhere.

Good luck in your search and let us know what you decide to do.

UGCM

3. JJMR794

JJMR794 Crowing

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL